My surrealistic work

My photo is about Man Ray. He is a surrealist photographer who activated during the early 20 century. Since what he believed in is about the subconscious, all he works are deep into human’s subconscious. The strong difference between dark and white makes viewer gets influence by his work. The day after I saw his picture on the Google images, I cannot sleep. When I close my eye, this picture will show up in my mind, which scared me. In my opinion, this shows how man ray got succeed. At least, he can make people get shock by his work.

For my own picture, I took a negative picture from the balcony of our class room. It is a regular view of the old college. I saw the same view at the first day I have been to Newark in 2009. However, when I change the view into a negative picture, it gives me a whole novelty experience. Trees were not familiar with anymore. The fence and the road were totally different from what they should be. By taking a so-called X-ray picture, I want to make people notice that even everyday’s view can be a band new landscape if being presented in a different way. What we are familiar with in the daily life also may means another different thing. The process of taking views that being familiar by the people into different is also a process of shaking people’s subconscious. In the common sense, people understand that the picture is just about what they have seen thousand time. However, it is not in the subconscious. It is my version of surrealist.

Leave a comment